Petition seeks contempt proceedings against Maryam Nawaz

A writ petition filed in the Lahore High Court (LHC) on Monday sought contempt proceedings against Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Senior Vice President Maryam Nawaz for contemptuous remarks during a speech in Sargodha

Petitioner Muhammad Shahid stated in his petition that on February 23, the PML-N scion delivered her speech which was broadcasted by most Pakistani television channels

The petitioner cited six contemptuous remarks made by Maryam Nawaz: “group of five is responsible for this plight of Pakistan, namely Gen (retd) Faiz Hameed, Justice Mazahir Naqvi, Justice Ijazul Hassan, [former chief justice] Saqib Nisar and [justice (retd)] Azmat Saeed"

Moreover, she said that “there should be suo motu action against the leaked audios of judges”, referring to leaks of the conversation between the CCPO and PTI leader Yasmin Rashid

“The audio recording of the judges has come out, if there is no suo motu action on it, then it will lessen the respect for the judiciary and we do not want that,” the PML-N leader told the crowd

She also stated that PTI chief Imran Khn was thrown into the 'garbage bin' but the 'judges were picking him up'

Read PML-N leaders call for course correction after loss The petition continued that she also said, “if the courts wait for a person for four days, then the minds of the people will get a wrong impression,” referring to the LHC proceedings wherein Imran was ordered to come to the court for protective bail

It further quoted her as saying “when the establishment realised that Imran was fitna [mischievous] and intishar [chaotic] and washed their hands of him, these judges took upon themselves not only to save him but to pave the way for his return to power also”

The petitioner contended that Maryam scandalised the superior court before the whole country and committed several contempt offences

He requested the court to summon Maryam and initiate proceedings to bring her to the book in accordance with the law

Later, petitions were also filed against PML-N leaders Rana Sanaullah, Azam Nazir Tarar and Talal Chaudhry for remarks against the judiciary following Maryam’s speech

Date:28-Feb-2023 Reference:View Original Link