Sindh cabinet swells by another 20 members



KARACHI: Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah inducted nine new ministers and 11 special assistants on Sunday as part of the second phase of the expansion of his cabinet.  The cabinet was expanded by 17 members in the first phase.

The new cabinet members were sworn-in by Governor Dr Ishratul Ibad in Murad’s presence at the Governor’s House in Karachi.

Those who took oath include Manzoor Wassan (industries); Mir Hazar Khan Bijrani (Planning and Development); Muhammad Bux Khan Mahar (Sports), Jam Ikramullah Dharejo (Cooperatives), Nasir Hussain Shah (Transport), Imdad Ali Pitafi (Works and Services), Fayaz Ali Butt (Public Health and Rural Development), Mohammad Ali Malkani (Livestock and Fisheries) and Mumtaz Jakhrani (Population and Welfare).

Those sworn in as special assistants include Umer Rehman Malik, the son of former interior minister Senator Rehman Malik; Nawab Taimur Talpur, son of PPP MNA Nawab Yousaf Talpur; and Burhan Chandio, son of PPP MPA Nawab Sardar Chandio.  Umer has been assigned the portfolio of Public Private Partnership Unit, Taimur will look after inter-provincial coordination and Burhan will take over the narcotics portfolio.

The other new special assistants are Rehana Leghari (human rights), Nadir Khawaja (Chief Minister’s Inspection Team), Abid Hussain Bhayyo (youth affairs), Syed Qasim Naveed (special initiatives), Baber Effendi (irrigation), Zulfikar Bihan (special education), Shahid Thahim (Sindh Technical Education and Vocational Training Authority) and Naveed Anthony (inter-faith harmony).

Original news :