CPJ announces Press Oppressors awards after Trump’s fake news awards

The Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) is recognising world leaders who had attacked the freedom of press, according to Committee to Protect Journalists.

The move came after President Trump’s announcement on the social media network about his planned “fake news” awards ceremony.

The CPJ has recognised five world leaders -Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, Chinese President Xi Jinping, Myanmar’s State Counselor and de facto leader Aung San Suu Kyi and US President Donald Trump – and the runner-ups in their categories for attacking press.

Most Thin-skinned

In this category, the CPJ has recognised Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan as winner while US President Donald Trump as runner-up.

Turkish government has repeatedly charged news outlets, journalists and social media users for insulting Erdogan and other leaders of the ruling party.

Two Pakistanis among 262 journalists jailed for their work worldwide

The US president has threatened the media to “open-up” libel laws, sue news outlets, and subject their broadcast licenses to review.

He has regularly been attacking media outlets and journalists, terming them “sad,” “failing,” or “garbage on Twitter and in speeches.

Most Outrageous Use of Terror Laws Against the Press

The CPJ has named President Recep Tayyip Erdogan as winner while Egypt’s President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi as runner-up in this category.

Turkey has currently put at least 73 journalists behind bars. According to CPJ’s latest prison census, at least 20 journalists have been sent to jail in Egypt.

Tightest Grip on Media

Chinese President Xi Jinping has been recognized as winner while Russian President Vladimir Putin as runner-up in this group.

Chinese government has been using combination of traditional censorship and internet controls to keep the media in line. Last year, at least 41 journalists were put behind bars in China.

While in Russia, journalists face threats of violence or imprisonment and other harassment. Putin’s government had recently ordered foreign media outlets to register as foreign agents.

Biggest Backslider in Press Freedom

In this group, the CPJ has recognised Myanmar’s State Counselor and de facto leader Aung San Suu Kyi as winner while Polish President Andrzej Duda as runner-up.

In 2015, CPJ had listed Myanmar as the ninth most censored country worldwide.

Poland under Duda has recently taken direct control of public media.

According to a plan, the government will change regulations in a way that would force foreign owners of news outlets to give up their majority stakes.

The government departments have stopped subscriptions to pro-opposition media outlets. The public sector firms have also redirected advertising funds to friendly media houses.

Overall Achievement in Undermining Global Press Freedom

The CJP has named President Donald Trump as winner in this category as he had consistently been undermining domestic news outlets and refusing to publicly raise freedom of the press.

The government has failed to commit to guidelines intended to protect journalists’ sources.

Bilawal assures female journalists of south Punjab that their demands will be raised in National Assembly

  • Journalist Zeenat Shahzadi recovered after two years

    Female broadcast journalist had been kidnapped by gunmen in Lahore, according to witnesses

    Original news : https://tribune.com.pk/story/1604626/3-cpj-announces-press-oppressors-awards-trumps-fake-news-awards/