Team’s ready for starless National One Day Cup

KARACHI: Eight teams from across the country are ready to battle it out for the National One Day Regional Cup, which will begin from January 25.

The tournament, which will be played in the twin cities of Islamabad and Rawalpindi will feature 31 matches.

Even though one match from each round along with the semi-finals and final will be telecasted live on the TV, the absence of star power have casted big doubts on the success of the tournament.

PCB’s differences with franchises over dues put third PSL edition in jeopardy

Numerous players from different teams are currently with the national side on the New Zealand tour, and will not be available for selection before the first three matches of the tournament.

Defending champions Peshawar will face Fakhar Zaman-less FATA in their first match, whereas last year’s runners-up Karachi Whites (W) will lock horns with Faisalabad at KRL Ground in Rawalpindi without pacer Rumman Raeess, who will be replaced by right-armer Tabish Khan.

Hosts Islamabad, who will be without all-rounder Imad Wasim and fast-bowler Hasan Ali, will face joint-host Rawalpindi in their opening fixture.

Improving Pakistan’s women cricket team

On the other hand, Rawalpindi will also go in the tournament without three of their best players — Umer Amin, Muhammad Hafeez and Shadab Khan, who will be replaced by left-arm pacer Sadaf Hussain, opening batsman Azhar Ali and Saud Shakeel.

Other four teams, Karachi (W), Faisalabad, Lahore Whites and Lahore Blues will begin their tournament with full squads as none of their players are travelling with the national team at the moment.

The pitch behavior and weather will be another interesting aspect to monitor during the tournament, as the same tracks created massive problems for the batsmen during the recently concluded National T20 matches, whereas some matches were whitewashed as well.

All teams will play seven matches each in the competitions and the four leading outfits will progress to the semi-finals, which will be held on February 8th and 9th at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium while the final will be held on February 11th at the same venue.

Sethi had already announced to hold the league as per the announced schedule

  • SNGPL's Imran Butt receives three-month ban for doping

    Right-handed batsman accepts sanction, denies committing act willing

  • Ahmad Shahzad returns for New Zealand T20Is

    Imad Wasim, recovering from knee injury, replaced with Muhammad Nawaz

  • Cricket with Pakistan not possible, says Indian FM Sushma Swaraj

    Sushma Swaraj rules out bilateral series between arch-rivals due to political tensions

  • Improving Pakistan’s women cricket team

    PCB always has had a bias towards Pakistan’s men’s cricket team

    Original news :