Senate elections to be held on March 3: ECP

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), on Monday, announced March 3 as the date for senate elections, reported Express News.

The notification issued by ECP stated that nomination papers can be submitted to the returning officer between February 4 and 6. The nomination papers will be reviewed by February 9 and a list of all the candidates will be released on February 15, after which the elections will be held on March 3.

ECP all set to hold Senate elections in March

The tenure of 52 senators from four provinces, the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (Fata) and Islamabad is going to expire on March 11 after completion of their six-year term in the upper house of parliament. Elections will be held for a similar number of seats in the four provincial assemblies.

The Senate comprises 104 members in which 23 each are from four provinces, eight from Fata and four from Islamabad. The 23 seats allocated for each province comprise 14 general seats, four reserved for women, four for technocrats and one for a minority member.

Last week, the ECP issued a notification about the approval of the schedule of the Senate’s elections and said another notification will be issued on February 2, 2018. The ECP also announced appointment of returning officers (ROs) and polling officers (POs) for this practice.


About 12 senators from Punjab are going to retire in March. Among these seven – Hamza, Kamil Ali Agha, Mohsin Laghari, Zafarullah Khan Dhandla, Saud Majeed, Zulfiqar Khan Khosa, Asif Saeed Kirmani – were elected on general seats.  Aitzaz Ahsan and Ishaq Dar were elected on technocrat’s seats, Khalida Parveen and Nuzhat Sadiq on women seats and Kamran Michael on non-Muslim’s quota.


Twelve senators are also retiring from Sindh. Of these, seven were elected on general seats, two on technocrat’s seats, two on women’s seat and on non-Muslim’s seat.

The seven senators elected on general seats included Murtaza Wahab, Tahir Mashhadi, Karim Khawaja, Maulana Tanveerul Haq, Raza Rabbani, Mukhtiar Dhamrah and Muzafar Hussain Shah.

Farogh Naseem and Taj Haider will complete their term on technocrat’s quota, Nasreen Jalil and Sehar Kamran on women seat while Senator Hari Ram on non-Muslim’s quota.

ECP launches voters’ verification campaign in Multan


Eleven senators are retiring from Balochistan.

Daud Khan Achakzai, Hafiz Hamdullah; Israrullah Khan Zehri, Muhammad Yousaf, Saeedul Hassan and Nawabzada Saifullah Magsi were elected on general seats. Mufti Abdul Sattar and Rozi Khan Kakar were elected on technocrats’ seat and Naseema Ehsan and Rubina Irfan were elected on women’s seat.

Khyber Pakhtunkwa

Eleven senators from the K-P will also retire in March. Those who were elected on general seats include Ahmad Hassan, Baz Muhammad Khan, Haji Saifullah Khan, Azam Khan Swati, Talha Mahmood, Nisar Muhammad and Shahi Syed. Senator Farhatullah Babar and Ilyas Bilour will end their term on technocrat seats while Senator Rubina Khalid and Zahida Khan will retire from women’s seats.

Fata, Islamabad

Fata’s four senators – Hidayatullah, Hilalur Rehman, Malik Najmul Hassan and Muhammad Saleh Shah – will retire in March. Osman Saifullah Khan who was elected on Islamabad’s general seat and Mushahid Hussain Syed who was elected on technocrat seat will also retire.


Railways minister vows not to allow PPP stalwart to continue the 'shameful act under the garb of democracy'

  • Caretaker premier to be selected with consensus of all political parties: PM

    Shahid Khaqan Abbasi says democracy is under no threat, reaffirms Senate elections will be held on time

  • ECP all set to hold Senate elections in March

    Notifies names of ROs and POs for provinces, Fata and federal capital

    Original news :