Johnson opts out as PSL franchises select replacements

KARACHI: Three Pakistan Super League (PSL) franchises chose substitutes at the replacement draft for the third edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) held at Pakistan Cricket Board’s headquarters in Lahore on Monday.

Karachi Kings were the most active of the six franchises, who made three changes to their initial roster. They signed England batsman Joe Denly in place of his compatriot Luke Wright, who had represented Quetta Gladiators in the opening two editions of the PSL before being released.

Akram, Malik to captain in Multan Sultan exhibition match

Wright was picked up by the Kings in the main draft in November 2017 but was forced to withdraw due to a concussion he suffered during the ongoing 2017-18 Big Bash League.

#HBLPSL Replacement Draft for season three underway at the National Cricket Academy, Lahore #DilSeJaanLagaDe

— PakistanSuperLeague (@thePSLt20) January 29, 2018

Karachi also replaced Australian veteran Mitchell Johnson with England pacer Tymal Mills, and New Zealand batsman Colin Munro with opener Lendl Simmons.

Replacement Draft: English fast bowler Tymal Mills replaces Mitchell Johnson in @KarachiKingsARY team #HBLPSL #DilSeJaanLagaDe

— PakistanSuperLeague (@thePSLt20) January 29, 2018

Johnson had earlier made himself available for the third edition of the PCB’s flagship T20 league but later opted out citing “personal reasons”.

Meanwhile, the Gladiators replaced West Indies T20I captain Carlos Brathwaite with fellow Barbadian Jofra Archer.

Brathwaite, who famously won the Calypsos the 2016 World T20 by hitting four straight sixes in the final over, opted out of the tournament after being picked in the West Indies squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers.

Ali Zafar releases new anthem for PSL 3

Meanwhile, Lahore Qalandars replaced Sri Lanka’s limited-overs captain Angelo Mathews with New Zealand batsman Anton Devcich.

The third edition of the PSL will begin from February 22 where the six franchises will fight for the title with the landmark final poised to be held in National Stadium Karachi.

The new song is titled 'Dil Se Jaan Laga De'

  • Akram, Malik to captain in Multan Sultan exhibition match

    Franchise to launch team in event on February 3 in Multan

    Original news :