Breaking the code: Penalty imposed on LG members

RAWALPINDI: Deputy Commissioner and District Monitoring Officer Dr Umer Jahangir has imposed fine amounting to Rs25,000 each on six elected representatives of the local bodies for violating the Election Commission of Pakistan code of conduct.

The elected representatives were earlier served show-cause notice for taking part in election campaigns of Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan in NA-59, NA 63, PP-10 and PP-12, Hanif Abbasi in NA-60, Malik Ibrar in NA-61 and Raja Hanif in PP-17 but they did not give any reply of the notice.

Fines were imposed on CCB Vice President Raja Irfan Imtiaz, UC-89 Chairman Sheikh Sajid, Cantonment Board Ward-8 Member Chaudhry Khurram, UC-84 Chairman ImranI lyas, UC-21 Vice Chairman Muhammad Hanif and UC-119 Chairman Ali Awan.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 14th, 2018.

In order to enforce the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) code of conduct

  • District government declares rally ‘illegal’

    DC says they strongly recommended Shehbaz not to hold any rally

  • Districts Jamshoro and Dadu: Local alliances versus the PPP

    With dissidents and opponents joining forces, the two districts promise a tough fight

  • Interim K-P govt orders major reshuffle after Peshawar attack

    Move come as government officials failed to take necessary security measures

    More in Punjab

    Original news :