Plea for recount rejected in multiple constituencies

KARACHI: Vote recount pleas for NA-237, NA-238 and PS-92 were rejected by the respective returning officers on Saturday.

The returning officer for NA-237 rejected the recount plea filed by Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidate Abdul Hakim Baloch. The PPP candidate had submitted the plea for vote recount in his constituency, but the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s winning candidate, Capt (retd) Jameel Ahmed filed an objection against it. He argued that the plea was submitted late and if it were to be accepted and the vote recount approved, then claims of all other parties would have to be heard as well. Baloch said that his plea was submitted the previous day but due to the absence of the RO, it was submitted in his office. Ahmed stated that it was a legal requirement to submit the plea before the RO.

Polls aftermath: RO rejects former PM Abbasi’s recount petition

The RO rejected Baloch’s plea, following which a large number of PPP workers and supporters gathered outside the Malir Court premises and held a sit-in on National Highway. They shouted slogans against the Election Commission of Pakistan and other institutions. A large contingent of police reached the Malir Court and PPP leaders asked the workers to remain peaceful and end the sit-in. They added that they would consult the high court regarding the matter. Furthermore, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari has notified a committee to engage with political parties in the wake of General Elections-2018 to discuss the way forward. Members of the committee include Syed Yousif Raza Gillani, Syed Khursheed Shah, Senator Sherry Rehman, Senator Farhatullah Babar, Qamar Zaman Kaira, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf and Syed Naveed Qamar, among others.

Pakistan Rah-e-Haq party candidate Aurangzeb Farooqui’s request for a vote recount in NA-238 was rejected as well. Farooqui has also decided to consult the high court.

PTI candidate Abid’s plea of recount in PS-92 was has also been rejected. The plea stated that the result for PS-92 was received after 24 hours and they believed it had been changed.

Results from all 270 National Assembly seats

  • PML-N's Sadiq demands ouster of ECP chief over conduct of elections

    Former Speaker National Assembly regrets conferring more powers to ECP 'than it could handle'

  • Man creates his own elections to vote

    The wooden ballot box is inscribed with slogans in favour of Pervez Elahi

    Original news :